close
NL flag Would you like to use our Dutch website?
We've noticed that you are visiting a version of our website that doesn't match your current location. Using our local website helps ensure you get the most relevant prices and supply.
No, continue to German website
close
DE flag Would you like to use our German website?
We've noticed that you are visiting a version of our website that doesn't match your current location. Using our local website helps ensure you get the most relevant prices and supply.
No, continue to Dutch website
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Tempe

Search for a car rental

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Tempe

check_circle Free cancellation on most bookings

car image placeholder
  • Trusted by 7 million customers and counting
  • Special low rates available here
  • Huge selection of cars, locations, companies
  • Rent a car coupons & deals
  • Easy searching & booking.
Rent a car in 60 seconds

Recently Booked Avis Car Rentals from $ 27.77/day

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Mazda Cx5 or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 5
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.80 /day

($ 222.41 total)


Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.81 /day

($ 111.25 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.87 /day

($ 83.62 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.88 /day

($ 27.88 total)


Prices are based on bookings made during the previous 42 days. Price is dynamic and varies based on the date of the booking, length of rental and car class. There is no guarantee this price will be in effect at the time of your search.

Avis Rental Car Reviews

Car rental rating: 4.53 out of 5 with 225 ratings

Avis

"Staff was amazing and made a stressful trip, much easier. thank you"

(Reviewed on October 13, 2015 )

Avis

"outstanding experience"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )


Avis

"Superb!"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )

Avis

"Thanks! No complaints! :)"

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )


Avis

"I was expecting a mid sized SUV and got a Jeep Patriot, which is a cracker box on wheels. The check in girl was awesome and the man at the counter at pick was very good, too. I feel that for the price I paid I should hav..." Read more

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )

Avis

"Excellent experience. It would be better if they provide pick up/drop off service."

(Reviewed on October 07, 2015 )


Avis

"Great experience"

(Reviewed on October 04, 2015 )

Avis

"Ashley from Avis was outstanding, very helpful and made the experience (even though expensive because it was last minute) very enjoyable."

(Reviewed on October 03, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience with avis"

(Reviewed on October 02, 2015 )

Avis

"THE SITE IS AWESOME"

(Reviewed on October 01, 2015 )


Avis

"Thank you for the great service and friendly service"

(Reviewed on September 28, 2015 )

Avis

"I put yes for good value, but did not shop around. I'm hoping I did the best I could..."

(Reviewed on September 27, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience"

(Reviewed on September 25, 2015 )

Avis

"The desk agent who processed my reservation at pick-up was very professional and helpful. She had a difficult customer while I was present and was amazing in her restraint in resolving that person's issues. I found her t..." Read more

(Reviewed on September 22, 2015 )


Please be aware that some of these reviews may have been translated automatically into English.

Avis Car Rentals in Tempe: What you need to know

There are so many neighborhoods in Phoenix that are worth exploring, you will need your own car to check out all there is to do in this city. The city buses, while cheap, drop you off far from your destination. Ride hailing is convenient, but you may be surprised by which places don't have service. Plus, if you plan to go all over Tempe and the surrounding areas, the cost can add up.

If you want convenience for a great price, then you are in the right spot. We work with the top companies in the industry. The first car rental company located in an airport, Avis has over seventy years of providing vehicles to travelers from all over. With an assorted fleet of autos and over 5,000 locations globally, Avis is sure to give you a great experience from pick-up to drop-off.

Frequently asked questions about renting a car

How do I get a Tempe Avis car rental at a great rate?

You're on your way to locating the best price on your car rental when you use us. Nonetheless, there are ways to get an even cheaper price on your upcoming booking:

  • Compare vehicle pricing before you book
  • Try to avoid airport pick-ups or drop-offs, which usually are more expensive
  • Know ahead of time the amount of mileage/fuel you may use
  • Search and reserve in advance

A bit of knowledge goes a long way to lower your price.

Do I need to bring anything special when I get my car rental in Tempe?

Be sure to bring your credit card, as well as your driver's license.

What's the minimum age to rent a car in Tempe?

Avis's minimum age to rent a car is 21. Some rentals, especially higher category vehicles (luxury, SUVs, etc.), may have an additional fee if you are under 25. Take time to go over Avis's policies to find out what the total cost is before you book.

Is there a particular car I should rent for my trip?

That depends on how many people you are traveling with and what activities you want to do in Tempe. If you are having trouble choosing, make sure to go over the chart below. We have compared the most popular categories for you:

Car TypeBest forCategory includes
Full Size SUVTo take on any kind of terrain and enjoy great viewsFord Edge, KIA Sorento, Jaguar F-Pace, or similar
Full SizeFamilies with luggage and a need for spaceChevrolet Impala, Toyota Camry , or similar
HybridThose looking for a fuel-efficient vehicleToyota Prius, Honda Civic, or similar

Is insurance required when you rent a car in the U.S.A.?

When cruising through Tempe or the rest of the United States, you'll need insurance. Avis requires that you show proof of insurance before you rent a car. The majority of countries require the driver to have insurance. You may be able to purchase temporary insurance through Avis. Moreover, as a United States citizen, you can also purchase Collision Damage Coverage with CarRentals.com at checkout.

Although many major card issuers, like MasterCard or Visa, provide some coverage, there are usually restrictions. For example, they may not cover your rental car if you reserve a luxury or larger vehicle. Make sure to check Avis's policy before you decide.

Do I need to pay a deposit when I book my Avis car rental?

Avis, like many other rental car agencies, requires a deposit when you make your reservation. The sum can vary greatly depending on the type of automobile. Furthermore, be sure you have enough on your credit card to make a deposit.

What is the fuel policy on my Avis car rental?

Avis and most other rental car companies give you a full to full tank policy. At CarRentals.com, we suggest bringing it back filled up. To avoid any added expenses, it is best to fill up your tank before you return the car to Avis.

Do I need unlimited miles when I rent a car in Tempe?

Most suppliers will offer unlimited miles, but you need to make sure it is part of your bundle that you are purchasing. It's useful to know how much you want to drive so you can plan your trip ahead of time. Although most car rental companies offer unlimited mileage, if it isn't part of your rental agreement, you could face additional cost. You may need to get unlimited miles if you are imagining some road trips to see everything that Phoenix has to offer, or even the U.S.A.

Anything I should make sure to do around Tempe?

Once you've explored Tempe, you'll be happy that you have your own set of wheels. You may want to bring your clubs. There are five golf courses in Phoenix. Want to work on your putting? Check out:

  • Rolling Hills Golf Course
  • Shalimar Golf Club
  • Ken McDonald Golf Course
  • ASU Karsten Golf Course

Arizona has lots of things to do for tourists and locals alike. You may just have to get into your rental car and find what is else is in the region.

Reserve Your Ride Today!

With everything there is to do in Phoenix, having access to your own ride lets you explore at your own pace. When you're ready to check out more of the U.S.A., you can go wherever you like, without having to wait for the bus or hail a cab.

Heading out of town soon? Book your Avis Tempe rental car and zip off to take in all the must-see sights at your own pace. Go with CarRentals.com and hit the roads in Phoenix, Arizona.