close
NL flag Would you like to use our Dutch website?
We've noticed that you are visiting a version of our website that doesn't match your current location. Using our local website helps ensure you get the most relevant prices and supply.
No, continue to German website
close
DE flag Would you like to use our German website?
We've noticed that you are visiting a version of our website that doesn't match your current location. Using our local website helps ensure you get the most relevant prices and supply.
No, continue to Dutch website
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Summit

Search for a car rental

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Summit

check_circle Free cancellation on most bookings

car image placeholder
  • Trusted by 7 million customers and counting
  • Special low rates available here
  • Huge selection of cars, locations, companies
  • Rent a car coupons & deals
  • Easy searching & booking.
Rent a car in 60 seconds

Recently Booked Avis Car Rentals from $ 27.77/day

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Mazda Cx5 or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 5
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.80 /day

($ 222.41 total)


Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.81 /day

($ 111.25 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.87 /day

($ 83.62 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.88 /day

($ 27.88 total)


Prices are based on bookings made during the previous 42 days. Price is dynamic and varies based on the date of the booking, length of rental and car class. There is no guarantee this price will be in effect at the time of your search.

Avis Rental Car Reviews

Car rental rating: 4.53 out of 5 with 225 ratings

Avis

"Staff was amazing and made a stressful trip, much easier. thank you"

(Reviewed on October 13, 2015 )

Avis

"outstanding experience"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )


Avis

"Superb!"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )

Avis

"Thanks! No complaints! :)"

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )


Avis

"I was expecting a mid sized SUV and got a Jeep Patriot, which is a cracker box on wheels. The check in girl was awesome and the man at the counter at pick was very good, too. I feel that for the price I paid I should hav..." Read more

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )

Avis

"Excellent experience. It would be better if they provide pick up/drop off service."

(Reviewed on October 07, 2015 )


Avis

"Great experience"

(Reviewed on October 04, 2015 )

Avis

"Ashley from Avis was outstanding, very helpful and made the experience (even though expensive because it was last minute) very enjoyable."

(Reviewed on October 03, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience with avis"

(Reviewed on October 02, 2015 )

Avis

"THE SITE IS AWESOME"

(Reviewed on October 01, 2015 )


Avis

"Thank you for the great service and friendly service"

(Reviewed on September 28, 2015 )

Avis

"I put yes for good value, but did not shop around. I'm hoping I did the best I could..."

(Reviewed on September 27, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience"

(Reviewed on September 25, 2015 )

Avis

"The desk agent who processed my reservation at pick-up was very professional and helpful. She had a difficult customer while I was present and was amazing in her restraint in resolving that person's issues. I found her t..." Read more

(Reviewed on September 22, 2015 )


Please be aware that some of these reviews may have been translated automatically into English.

Avis Car Rentals in Summit: What you need to know

There are so many neighborhoods in Newark that are worth exploring, you will want your own car to check out all there is to do in this city. The city buses, while inexpensive, drop you off far from where you wanted to go. Ridesharing, like Uber or Lyft, can be convenient, but rural areas may not have regular service. Additionally, if you plan to go all over Summit and the surrounding areas, the cost can add up.

If you want convenience for a great price, then you have found the perfect spot. We work with the finest car rental companies in the business. Avis was the first rental car business to be located in an airport and they have over seventy years of providing rentals to travelers from all over. With a diverse fleet of automobiles and over 5,000 locations internationally, Avis is sure to provide you a great experience from when you pick up your car to when you drop it off.

Frequently asked questions

How do I find the best prices on a Summit Avis car rental?

You are well on your way to locating the best price on your car rental by going through CarRentals.com. Nevertheless, to get the most savings when you travel to Summit you can do a few things:

  • Read through the mileage policy to avoid any surprise expenses
  • Book your vehicle as far ahead of time as possible
  • Avoid airport pick-ups and drop-offs if possible; they normally are more expensive
  • Compare weekly and daily rates; you might save more if you rent the car for longer

A little knowledge goes a long way to increase your savings.

What documents do I need when I pick up my rental car in Summit?

Make sure to bring your credit card, as well as your driver's license.

How old do I have to be to rent a car in Summit?

Avis's minimum age to rent a car is 21. Make sure to review Avis's policy, as there may be additional fees if you are under 25 or for larger or higher category cars in particular.

What kind of Avis rental car should I get for my trip?

That all depends on your needs and what you'll be doing when you visit Summit. If you are having a bit of trouble picking the right car, be sure to look over our table below. We have compared the most popular vehicle categories for you:

Car TypeBest forCategory includes
LuxuryEveryone who wants to travel Summit in styleCadillac, Audi, or similar
MinivanIf you plan on doing a lot of touring and want a comfy rideChrysler Town & Country, Dodge Grand Caravan, or similar
HybridThose looking for a fuel-efficient vehicleBMW i3, Toyota Prius, or similar

Do I need insurance when I rent a car in the U.S.A.?

When driving in Summit or the rest of the U.S.A., you'll need insurance. Avis requires that you show proof of insurance before you pick up your automobile. Many countries require the driver to have insurance. You might be able to purchase additional insurance through Avis for your trip, if you know your insurance won't cover you while traveling through the U.S. of A. Otherwise, as a U.S. citizen, you can also book Collision Damage Coverage through CarRentals.com during checkout.

The major credit card issuers (MasterCard, Visa, American Express and Discover) will usually offer coverage. But many of them have restrictions, such as not covering bigger vehicles like trucks or SUVs. It is best to call and find out what kind of coverage is offered before you travel to Newark.

Do I need to pay a deposit when I book my Avis car rental?

Avis, like several other rental companies, requires a deposit upon reservation. The deposit can vary greatly based on the type of automobile. Furthermore, make sure you have enough funds on your credit card to put down a deposit.

Do I have to return my Avis rental with a full tank?

Avis and most other suppliers provide you a full tank policy. We encourage bringing your car back with a full tank of gas. To avoid any added expenses, it is best to find a gas station before you bring your car back to Avis. Stations near airports or car rental places tend to have higher prices.

Should I get unlimited miles when I drive in Summit?

Many suppliers provide unlimited miles, but you need to ensure it is part of the bundle that you are purchasing. It's useful to know how much you want to drive so you can plan your trip ahead of time. Although most rental car companies offer unlimited mileage, if it isn't part of your rental agreement, you could face additional cost. You may need to have unlimited miles if you're imagining some road trips to find out everything that is in Newark.

Anything I should make sure to do around Summit?

Once you've checked out Summit, you'll be happy that you have your own vehicle. You may want to pack your clubs on this vacation. There are two golf courses in Newark. Want to work on your putting? Check out Summit Municipal Golf Course or Canoe Brook Country Club. New Jersey has lots of things to do while you're on vacation. You may just have to jump into your rental and discover what is else is in the region.

Book Today for Great Rates

Once you've explored the must-do activities in Newark, having your own vehicle will allow you to see what else New Jersey offers. When you are ready to discover more of the U.S. of A, you can leave when you want, without waiting for your ride to pick you up or memorizing a bus schedule.

Heading out of town soon? Book your Avis Summit rent-a-car and visit all the must-do activities at your own pace. Go through CarRentals.com and hit the highway in Newark, New Jersey.