close
NL flag Would you like to use our Dutch website?
We've noticed that you are visiting a version of our website that doesn't match your current location. Using our local website helps ensure you get the most relevant prices and supply.
No, continue to German website
close
DE flag Would you like to use our German website?
We've noticed that you are visiting a version of our website that doesn't match your current location. Using our local website helps ensure you get the most relevant prices and supply.
No, continue to Dutch website
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Staten Island

Search for a car rental

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Staten Island

check_circle Free cancellation on most bookings

car image placeholder
  • Trusted by 7 million customers and counting
  • Special low rates available here
  • Huge selection of cars, locations, companies
  • Rent a car coupons & deals
  • Easy searching & booking.
Rent a car in 60 seconds

Recently Booked Avis Car Rentals from $ 27.77/day

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Mazda Cx5 or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 5
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.80 /day

($ 222.41 total)


Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.81 /day

($ 111.25 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.87 /day

($ 83.62 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.88 /day

($ 27.88 total)


Prices are based on bookings made during the previous 42 days. Price is dynamic and varies based on the date of the booking, length of rental and car class. There is no guarantee this price will be in effect at the time of your search.

Avis Rental Car Reviews

Car rental rating: 4.53 out of 5 with 225 ratings

Avis

"Staff was amazing and made a stressful trip, much easier. thank you"

(Reviewed on October 13, 2015 )

Avis

"outstanding experience"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )


Avis

"Superb!"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )

Avis

"Thanks! No complaints! :)"

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )


Avis

"I was expecting a mid sized SUV and got a Jeep Patriot, which is a cracker box on wheels. The check in girl was awesome and the man at the counter at pick was very good, too. I feel that for the price I paid I should hav..." Read more

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )

Avis

"Excellent experience. It would be better if they provide pick up/drop off service."

(Reviewed on October 07, 2015 )


Avis

"Great experience"

(Reviewed on October 04, 2015 )

Avis

"Ashley from Avis was outstanding, very helpful and made the experience (even though expensive because it was last minute) very enjoyable."

(Reviewed on October 03, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience with avis"

(Reviewed on October 02, 2015 )

Avis

"THE SITE IS AWESOME"

(Reviewed on October 01, 2015 )


Avis

"Thank you for the great service and friendly service"

(Reviewed on September 28, 2015 )

Avis

"I put yes for good value, but did not shop around. I'm hoping I did the best I could..."

(Reviewed on September 27, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience"

(Reviewed on September 25, 2015 )

Avis

"The desk agent who processed my reservation at pick-up was very professional and helpful. She had a difficult customer while I was present and was amazing in her restraint in resolving that person's issues. I found her t..." Read more

(Reviewed on September 22, 2015 )


Please be aware that some of these reviews may have been translated automatically into English.

Avis Car Rentals in Staten Island: What you need to know

Staten Island is just one of many neighborhoods in New York that are worth exploring, and, you'll need a vehicle to check out everything there is to do here. Public transportation, while inexpensive, may not drop you off exactly where you need to go. Ridesharing can be convenient, but rural areas may not have timely service. Additionally, if you plan to go all over Staten Island and the surrounding areas, the cost can add up.

If you want convenience at a great rate, then you have found the best place. We work with many of the best rental car dealers in the business. The first car rental company located in an airport, Avis has over seventy years of providing cars to travelers from all over. With an assorted fleet of automobiles and over 5,000 locations worldwide, Avis is sure to provide you a great experience from pick-up to drop-off. In fact, past customers have rated Avis 5 out of 5 stars for overall satisfaction. They are known to exceed in staff friendliness and drop-off time.

Frequently asked questions

How do I get a Staten Island Avis car rental at a great price?

We always tries to get you the best price. But, there are ways to get an even lower price on your next booking:

  • Read through the mileage policy to avoid any surprise fees
  • Book your vehicle as far in advance as possible
  • Avoid airport pick-ups or drop-offs if possible; they commonly are pricier
  • Compare daily and weekly rates; you may save more with a longer rental

A bit of knowledge can go a long way to lower your rate.

What should I bring with me when I get my rental car in Staten Island?

Be sure to bring your driver's permit and a credit card in your name.

How old do I have to be to rent a car?

Avis's minimum age to rent a car is 21. Some rentals, especially higher category vehicles (luxury, SUVs, etc.), may have an added fee if you are under 25. Take time to go over Avis's policies to find out what the total cost is before you book.

Is there a particular vehicle I should get for my trip to Staten Island?

That depends on how many people you are traveling with and what you'll be doing when you visit Staten Island. If you are having a bit of trouble picking the right car, be sure to go over our table below. We've compared the most popular types of vehicles for you:

Car TypeBest forCategory includes
LuxuryWhen you want to travel Staten Island in styleCadillac XTS, Infiniti Q50, or similar
Minivan or SUVIf you plan on doing plenty of sightseeing and want a comfy rideToyota Rav 4, Dodge Grand Caravan, or similar
Economy or Compact CarWhen saving money is a top priorityChevrolet Spark, Vauxhall Corsa, or similar

Do I need insurance when I rent a car in the United States?

When cruising through Staten Island or the rest of the U.S.A., you'll need insurance. Avis requires that you show proof of insurance before you rent a car. Almost all countries require the driver to have insurance. You may be able to purchase interim coverage through Avis. Additionally, as a U.S. citizen, you can also purchase Collision Damage Coverage with CarRentals.com during checkout.

The major credit cards (Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover) will generally provide some coverage. However, many of them have restrictions, such as not covering larger vehicles like premium models or some SUVs. Be sure to call and find out what kind of coverage is offered before you travel to New York.

Do I need to pay a deposit when I book my Avis car rental?

Avis, like several other rental agencies, requires a deposit when you book. The amount can vary greatly depending on the size of the car. Also, be sure there is enough funds on your credit card to make the deposit.

Do I have to return my Avis rental with a full tank?

Avis and most other rental car suppliers provide you a full to full tank policy. We encourage bringing it back filled up. If you want to save some money, it is best to fill up your tank before you return the car to Avis. Stations close to airports or car rental places tend to have higher prices.

Do I need unlimited miles when I drive in Staten Island?

Most suppliers will offer unlimited miles, but you need to make sure it is part of your package. It's helpful to know how much you want to drive so you can plan your trip ahead of time. Although most car rental providers offer unlimited mileage, if it isn't part of your rental agreement, you could face additional cost. You may want unlimited miles if you are thinking of taking some road trips to see what else is in New York.

Anything I should make sure to do around Staten Island?

Once you've checked out Staten Island, you'll be happy that you have your own vehicle. If you like to trade in your car rental for a golf cart when you are on vacation, then you've come to the right place. There are four golf courses in New York. Want to work on your putting? Check out:

  • Richmond County Country Club
  • La Tourette Golf Course
  • Silver Lake Golf Course
  • South Shore Golf Club

New York is full of things to do while you're on vacation. You may just have to get into your rental and discover what is else is around the area.

Book Today for Great Rates

With everything there is to do in New York, having access to your own ride lets you sightsee at your own pace. When you are ready to check out more of the U.S. of A, you can drive when you want, without trying to wave down a taxi or sign up for a ride-share.

Heading out of town soon? Book your Avis Staten Island rent-a-car and visit all the must-see sights at your leisure. Go with CarRentals.com and hit the roads in New York, New York.