close
NL flag Would you like to use our Dutch website?
We've noticed that you are visiting a version of our website that doesn't match your current location. Using our local website helps ensure you get the most relevant prices and supply.
No, continue to German website
close
DE flag Would you like to use our German website?
We've noticed that you are visiting a version of our website that doesn't match your current location. Using our local website helps ensure you get the most relevant prices and supply.
No, continue to Dutch website
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Southampton

Search for a car rental

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Southampton

check_circle Free cancellation on most bookings

car image placeholder
  • Trusted by 7 million customers and counting
  • Special low rates available here
  • Huge selection of cars, locations, companies
  • Rent a car coupons & deals
  • Easy searching & booking.
Rent a car in 60 seconds

Recently Booked Avis Car Rentals from $ 27.77/day

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Mazda Cx5 or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 5
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.80 /day

($ 222.41 total)


Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.81 /day

($ 111.25 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.87 /day

($ 83.62 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.88 /day

($ 27.88 total)


Prices are based on bookings made during the previous 42 days. Price is dynamic and varies based on the date of the booking, length of rental and car class. There is no guarantee this price will be in effect at the time of your search.

Avis Rental Car Reviews

Car rental rating: 4.53 out of 5 with 225 ratings

Avis

"Staff was amazing and made a stressful trip, much easier. thank you"

(Reviewed on October 13, 2015 )

Avis

"outstanding experience"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )


Avis

"Superb!"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )

Avis

"Thanks! No complaints! :)"

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )


Avis

"I was expecting a mid sized SUV and got a Jeep Patriot, which is a cracker box on wheels. The check in girl was awesome and the man at the counter at pick was very good, too. I feel that for the price I paid I should hav..." Read more

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )

Avis

"Excellent experience. It would be better if they provide pick up/drop off service."

(Reviewed on October 07, 2015 )


Avis

"Great experience"

(Reviewed on October 04, 2015 )

Avis

"Ashley from Avis was outstanding, very helpful and made the experience (even though expensive because it was last minute) very enjoyable."

(Reviewed on October 03, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience with avis"

(Reviewed on October 02, 2015 )

Avis

"THE SITE IS AWESOME"

(Reviewed on October 01, 2015 )


Avis

"Thank you for the great service and friendly service"

(Reviewed on September 28, 2015 )

Avis

"I put yes for good value, but did not shop around. I'm hoping I did the best I could..."

(Reviewed on September 27, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience"

(Reviewed on September 25, 2015 )

Avis

"The desk agent who processed my reservation at pick-up was very professional and helpful. She had a difficult customer while I was present and was amazing in her restraint in resolving that person's issues. I found her t..." Read more

(Reviewed on September 22, 2015 )


Please be aware that some of these reviews may have been translated automatically into English.

Avis Car Rentals in Southampton: What you need to know

With plenty of neighborhoods in Hampshire, like Southampton, worth exploring, you will wish for a vehicle to check out all there is to do here. The city buses, while affordable, may not drop you off precisely where you need to go. Ridesharing, like Uber or Lyft, can be convenient, but you'd be surprised by which areas don't have service. Plus, the cost of going from here to there can really add up.

If you want convenience at a good price, then you are in the right spot. We work with many of the best car rental dealers in the industry. The first rental car company to be located in an airport, Avis has over 70 years of providing cars to visitors from all over. With over five-thousand locations internationally and a diverse fleet of automobiles, Avis is sure to offer you a great experience from beginning to end.

Frequently asked questions

How do I get a Southampton Avis car rental at a great price?

You're well on your way to locating the best rate on your car rental by going through us. But, there are ways to get an even lower price on your upcoming booking:

  • Read the mileage policy to avoid any surprise expenses
  • Reserve your rental as far ahead of time as you can
  • Avoid airport pick-ups and drop-offs if possible; they usually are pricier
  • Compare weekly and daily rates; you may save more if you rent the car for longer

A little knowledge can go a long way to lower your rate.

Which forms of identification should I bring when I get my car rental in Southampton?

You will need to present your credit card, as well as your driver's license.

What is the minimum age to rent a car?

Avis's minimum age to rent a car is 21. Make sure to check Avis's policies, as there may be additional fees if you are under 25 or for larger or higher category vehicles especially.

Is there a particular vehicle I should book for my trip?

That depends on your needs and what activities you want to do in Southampton. If you are having trouble deciding, make sure to read over the chart below. We've compared the most popular types of vehicles for you:

Car TypeBest forCategory includes
PremiumWhen you feel like you deserve the bestCamaro, Chrysler 300, or similar
SUVFamilies with a lot of luggage and a need for spaceFord Escape, Chrysler Town & Country, or similar
Economy or Compact CarCouple or two friends heading to the beach and backToyota Yaris, Nissan Versa, or similar

Do I need insurance when I rent a car in the U.K.?

When cruising through Southampton or the rest of the United Kingdom, you will need insurance. Avis requires that you show proof of insurance before you rent a car. Almost all countries require driver's insurance. You may be able to buy additional insurance through Avis, if you are concerned your insurance won't cover your rental during your trip.

Many major card issuers, like American Express or MasterCard, offer some coverage, but there are usually restrictions. For instance, you may not be covered if you get a luxury or larger vehicle. Make sure to check Avis's policy before you decide.

Do I need to pay a deposit when I book my Avis car rental?

Avis, like several other rental car companies, requires a deposit upon reservation. The sum can vary greatly based on which vehicle you reserve. Also, make sure you have enough available on your credit card to make the deposit.

Where do I go to pick up my Avis rental car?

The Avis terminal is found inside the airport. As soon as you disembark from the plane, you can make your way to their desk.

Do I have to fill up the tank before I take my car back to Avis?

At CarRentals.com, we encourage a full to full policy. You receive the car with a full tank, and you should return it filled up. If you want to save some money, find a filling station before you return the car to Avis. Stations close to airports or car rental places tend to have higher prices.

Can I get unlimited mileage when booking a car in Southampton?

Many suppliers will offer unlimited miles, but you want to make sure it is part of your package. It's helpful to determine how much driving you will be doing on your trip to Southampton. You don't want to be surprised with any overages if you don't have unlimited miles, so be certain you understand the company's policy. You may want to have unlimited miles if you're pondering some road trips to explore all that is in Hampshire.

Are there any road trips I should take from Southampton?

Once you've checked out Southampton, you'll be happy that you have your own vehicle. Not sure where to start your trip? The Southampton Maritime Museum can make for a fascinating afternoon.

Book Today for Great Rates

With everything there is to do in Hampshire, having access to your own ride lets you sightsee at your own pace. When you are ready to check out more of the United Kingdom, you can go when you want, without trying to signal for a taxicab or sign up for a ride-share.

Before you head out of town, book your Avis Southampton rental car and visit all the items on your itinerary. Reserve through CarRentals.com and hit the highway in Hampshire, United Kingdom.