Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Santa Maria

Search for a car rental

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Santa Maria

car image placeholder
  • Trusted by 7 million customers and counting
  • Special low rates available here
  • Huge selection of cars, locations, companies
  • Rent a car coupons & deals
  • Easy searching & booking.
Rent a car in 60 seconds

Recently Booked Avis Car Rentals from $ 27.77/day

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Mazda Cx5 or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 5
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.80 /day

($ 222.41 total)


Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.81 /day

($ 111.25 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.87 /day

($ 83.62 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.88 /day

($ 27.88 total)


Prices are based on bookings made during the previous 42 days. Price is dynamic and varies based on the date of the booking, length of rental and car class. There is no guarantee this price will be in effect at the time of your search.

Avis Rental Car Reviews

Car rental rating: 4.53 out of 5 with 225 ratings

Avis

"Staff was amazing and made a stressful trip, much easier. thank you"

(Reviewed on October 13, 2015 )

Avis

"outstanding experience"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )


Avis

"Superb!"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )

Avis

"Thanks! No complaints! :)"

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )


Avis

"I was expecting a mid sized SUV and got a Jeep Patriot, which is a cracker box on wheels. The check in girl was awesome and the man at the counter at pick was very good, too. I feel that for the price I paid I should hav..." Read more

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )

Avis

"Excellent experience. It would be better if they provide pick up/drop off service."

(Reviewed on October 07, 2015 )


Avis

"Great experience"

(Reviewed on October 04, 2015 )

Avis

"Ashley from Avis was outstanding, very helpful and made the experience (even though expensive because it was last minute) very enjoyable."

(Reviewed on October 03, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience with avis"

(Reviewed on October 02, 2015 )

Avis

"THE SITE IS AWESOME"

(Reviewed on October 01, 2015 )


Avis

"Thank you for the great service and friendly service"

(Reviewed on September 28, 2015 )

Avis

"I put yes for good value, but did not shop around. I'm hoping I did the best I could..."

(Reviewed on September 27, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience"

(Reviewed on September 25, 2015 )

Avis

"The desk agent who processed my reservation at pick-up was very professional and helpful. She had a difficult customer while I was present and was amazing in her restraint in resolving that person's issues. I found her t..." Read more

(Reviewed on September 22, 2015 )


Please be aware that some of these reviews may have been translated automatically into English.

Avis Car Rentals in Santa Maria: What you need to know

Santa Maria is just one of many neighborhoods in San Luis Obispo that are worth exploring, and, you will wish for a car to check out all there is to do here. Buses or metro, while cheap, drop you off far from your destination. Ridesharing is convenient, but small towns may not have timely service. Plus, if you plan to go all over Santa Maria and the surrounding areas, the cost can add up.

If you want the convenience to go where you need to for an affordable rate, then you're in the right spot. We work with several of the finest businesses in the world. Avis was the first rental car company to be located in an airport and have over seventy years of providing rental cars to travelers from all over. With over 5,000 locations all over the world and an assorted fleet of autos, Avis is sure to provide you a great experience from pick-up to drop-off. In fact, recent customers have rated Avis 4 out of 5 stars for overall satisfaction. They are known to exceed in staff friendliness, car cleanliness, and drop-off time.

Frequently asked questions about renting a car

How do I find the best rates on a Santa Maria Avis rental car?

CarRentals.com always tries to get you the best rate. However, there are ways to get an even lower price on your upcoming rental:

  • Compare the prices of vehicles
  • Try to avoid pick-ups or drop-offs at airports, which can cost more
  • Know ahead of time the amount of mileage/fuel you may use
  • Search and reserve as far in advance as you can

A bit of knowledge goes a long way to increase your savings.

Do I need to bring anything special when I pick up my rental car in Santa Maria?

Be sure to bring your driver's license and a credit card in your name.

What's the minimum age to rent a car in Santa Maria?

Avis's minimum age to rent a car is 21. Some rentals, especially higher category vehicles (premium, full-size SUVs, etc.), may have an additional fee if you are under 25. Make sure to check Avis's policy to know what the total cost is before you book.

Is there a particular vehicle I should book for my trip to Santa Maria?

That depends on how many people you are traveling with and what you'll be doing when you visit Santa Maria. If you are having difficulty choosing, be sure to go over our chart below. We've compared the most popular types of vehicles for you:

Car TypeBest forCategory includes
LuxuryIf you really want to go all out on your vacation to Santa MariaAudi A4, Cadillac XTS, or similar
Minivan or SUVFamilies with a lot of bags and a need for spaceDodge Grand Caravan, Nissan Quest, or similar
HybridThose that want a quiet and comfortable ride with terrific miles per gallonHonda Civic, Kia Optima, or similar

Is insurance required when you rent a car in the U.S.A.?

When driving in Santa Maria or the rest of the U.S. of A., you'll need insurance. Avis requires that you show proof of insurance before you pick up your vehicle. The majority of countries require the driver to have insurance. You might be able to buy additional insurance through Avis, if you know your insurance won't cover your rental during your trip. Additionally, as a U.S. citizen, you can also purchase Collision Damage Coverage with CarRentals.com at checkout.

Although many of the major card issuers, like Visa or American Express, give some coverage, there are usually restrictions. For instance, they may not cover your rental car if you book a luxury or larger vehicle. Make sure to check Avis's policy before you decide.

Does Avis require a deposit at the time of booking my rental car?

Avis, like several other rental companies, requires a deposit upon reservation. The sum can vary greatly based on which vehicle you book. Additionally, be sure you have enough available on your credit card to put down a deposit.

Where do I go to get my Avis rental car?

The Avis terminal is found inside the airport. When you disembark from the plane, you can head towards their desk.

What is the fuel policy on my Avis car rental?

We suggest a full tank policy. You pick up your Avis rental with a full tank, and you should bring it back it filled up. If you want to save some money, find a gas station before bringing the car rental to Avis. Stations close to airports or car rental places tend to have higher prices.

Can I add unlimited mileage when booking a car in Santa Maria?

Many suppliers offer unlimited miles, but you need to make sure it is part of the package. It's helpful to know how far you want to drive so you can plan your trip ahead of time. Although most car rental companies offer unlimited mileage, if it isn't part of your rental agreement, you could face additional cost. You may want unlimited miles if you are planning to see all that is in San Luis Obispo.

Are there any road trips I should take from Santa Maria?

Once you've checked out Santa Maria, you'll be happy that you have your own vehicle. You may want to bring your golf bag. There are three golf courses in San Luis Obispo. Want to work on your short game? Check out:

  • Santa Maria Country Club
  • Sunset Ridge Golf Course
  • Rancho Maria Golf Club

California is full of things to do while you're on vacation. You may just have to jump into your rental and find what is else is around the area.

Book Today for Great Rates

With so much to do and see in San Luis Obispo, having the keys to your own vehicle lets you sightsee at your own pace. When you're ready to discover more of the U.S. of A, you can leave when you like, without trying to hail a cab or sign up for a ride-share.

Before your next holiday, book your Avis Santa Maria rental car and take off to all the items on your itinerary at your own pace. Reserve with CarRentals.com and hit the highway in San Luis Obispo, California.