Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Rutherford

Search for a car rental

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Rutherford

car image placeholder
  • Trusted by 7 million customers and counting
  • Special low rates available here
  • Huge selection of cars, locations, companies
  • Rent a car coupons & deals
  • Easy searching & booking.
Rent a car in 60 seconds

Recently Booked Avis Car Rentals from $ 27.77/day

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Mazda Cx5 or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 5
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.80 /day

($ 222.41 total)


Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.81 /day

($ 111.25 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.87 /day

($ 83.62 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.88 /day

($ 27.88 total)


Prices are based on bookings made during the previous 42 days. Price is dynamic and varies based on the date of the booking, length of rental and car class. There is no guarantee this price will be in effect at the time of your search.

Avis Rental Car Reviews

Car rental rating: 4.53 out of 5 with 225 ratings

Avis

"Staff was amazing and made a stressful trip, much easier. thank you"

(Reviewed on October 13, 2015 )

Avis

"outstanding experience"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )


Avis

"Superb!"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )

Avis

"Thanks! No complaints! :)"

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )


Avis

"I was expecting a mid sized SUV and got a Jeep Patriot, which is a cracker box on wheels. The check in girl was awesome and the man at the counter at pick was very good, too. I feel that for the price I paid I should hav..." Read more

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )

Avis

"Excellent experience. It would be better if they provide pick up/drop off service."

(Reviewed on October 07, 2015 )


Avis

"Great experience"

(Reviewed on October 04, 2015 )

Avis

"Ashley from Avis was outstanding, very helpful and made the experience (even though expensive because it was last minute) very enjoyable."

(Reviewed on October 03, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience with avis"

(Reviewed on October 02, 2015 )

Avis

"THE SITE IS AWESOME"

(Reviewed on October 01, 2015 )


Avis

"Thank you for the great service and friendly service"

(Reviewed on September 28, 2015 )

Avis

"I put yes for good value, but did not shop around. I'm hoping I did the best I could..."

(Reviewed on September 27, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience"

(Reviewed on September 25, 2015 )

Avis

"The desk agent who processed my reservation at pick-up was very professional and helpful. She had a difficult customer while I was present and was amazing in her restraint in resolving that person's issues. I found her t..." Read more

(Reviewed on September 22, 2015 )


Please be aware that some of these reviews may have been translated automatically into English.

Avis Car Rentals in Rutherford: What you need to know

Rutherford is just one of many neighborhoods in Jersey City that are worth exploring, and, you will need a vehicle to check out everything there is to do in this city. Public transportation, while cheap, may not get you close to where you wanted to go. Ride hailing is convenient, but smaller towns may not have timely service. Additionally, the cost of going from here to there can really add up.

If you want convenience for a great rate, then you're in the right place. We work with many of the top rental car companies in the industry. The first car rental business to be located in an airport, Avis has over seventy years of providing cars to travelers from all over. With over 5,000 locations all over the world and an assorted fleet of automobiles, Avis is sure to offer you a great experience from beginning to end.

Frequently asked questions about renting a car

How do I find the best deals on a Rutherford Avis car rental?

You are well on your way to getting the best deal on your car rental by going through CarRentals.com. Nonetheless, you can remember a couple things to keep your next booking affordable:

  • Check the mileage policy to avoid any surprise fees
  • Book your rental as far in advance as you can
  • Avoid airport pick-ups or drop-offs if possible; they commonly are more expensive
  • Compare weekly and daily rates; you may save more if you rent the car for longer

A little knowledge goes a long way to lower your rate.

Which forms of identification should I bring when I pick up my vehicle in Rutherford?

You will need to bring your driver's license and a credit card in your name.

How old do I have to be to rent a car?

Avis's minimum age to rent a car is 21. Some rentals, especially higher category vehicles (luxury, SUVs, etc.), may have an additional fee if you are under 25. Take time to go over Avis's policy to find out if there is an additional cost for you.

What kind of Avis rental car should I get for my trip?

That depends on how many people you are traveling with and what activities you want to do in Rutherford. If you are having a bit of trouble deciding, be sure to read over our chart below. We have compared the most popular types of cars for you:

Car TypeBest forCategory includes
Full Size SUVPerfect for families who need a comfortable ride and to fit in all their luggageFord Edge, KIA Sorento, or similar
Full SizePlanning a big trip with a large group of friends or family membersToyota Camry, Nissan Altima, or similar
Compact CarCouple or two friends heading to the beach and backToyota Yaris, Nissan Versa, or similar

Do I need insurance when I rent a car in the United States?

When driving in Rutherford or the rest of the United States, you'll need insurance. Avis requires that you show proof of insurance before you pick up your vehicle. The majority of countries require the driver to have insurance. You might be able to buy additional insurance through Avis, if you think your insurance won't cover you while traveling through the U.S.A.. Additionally, as a U.S. citizen, you can also purchase Collision Damage Coverage with CarRentals.com at checkout.

The major credit card issuers (American Express, Visa, MasterCard and Discover) will usually offer coverage. But many of them have restrictions, such as not covering bigger vehicles like trucks or SUVs. Be sure to call and find out what kind of coverage is offered before you travel to Jersey City.

Do I need to put down a deposit on my Avis rental?

Avis, like many other rental car companies, requires a deposit upon reservation. The sum can vary greatly depending on the type of automobile. Also, be sure there is enough available on your credit card to pay the deposit.

What is the fuel policy on my Avis car rental?

Avis and most other suppliers provide you a full tank policy. We recommend bringing your car back filled up. If you want to keep your expenses lower, find a gas station before returning the vehicle to Avis. Stations close to airports or car rental places tend to have higher prices.

Can I add unlimited mileage when booking a car in Rutherford?

The majority of suppliers offer unlimited miles, but you need to make sure it is part of the bundle. It's helpful to know how much you want to drive so you can plan your trip ahead of time. Although most car rental companies offer unlimited mileage, if it isn't part of your package, you could face additional cost. You may need to have unlimited miles if you're planning to explore what else is in Jersey City.

Book Today for Great Rates

Once you've explored the must-see sights in Jersey City, having access to your own vehicle will allow you to see what else New Jersey offers. When you are ready to check out more of the United States, you can go wherever you like, without having to coordinate ride-hailing services or wait for the bus.

Heading out of town soon? Book your Avis Rutherford rent-a-car and drive to all the must-see sights at your own pace. Reserve through CarRentals.com and hit the streets in Jersey City, New Jersey.