Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Pietermaritzburg

Search for a car rental

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Pietermaritzburg

car image placeholder
  • Trusted by 7 million customers and counting
  • Special low rates available here
  • Huge selection of cars, locations, companies
  • Rent a car coupons & deals
  • Easy searching & booking.
Rent a car in 60 seconds

Recently Booked Avis Car Rentals from $ 27.77/day

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Mazda Cx5 or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 5
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.80 /day

($ 222.41 total)


Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.81 /day

($ 111.25 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.87 /day

($ 83.62 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.88 /day

($ 27.88 total)


Prices are based on bookings made during the previous 42 days. Price is dynamic and varies based on the date of the booking, length of rental and car class. There is no guarantee this price will be in effect at the time of your search.

Avis Rental Car Reviews

Car rental rating: 4.53 out of 5 with 225 ratings

Avis

"Staff was amazing and made a stressful trip, much easier. thank you"

(Reviewed on October 13, 2015 )

Avis

"outstanding experience"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )


Avis

"Superb!"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )

Avis

"Thanks! No complaints! :)"

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )


Avis

"I was expecting a mid sized SUV and got a Jeep Patriot, which is a cracker box on wheels. The check in girl was awesome and the man at the counter at pick was very good, too. I feel that for the price I paid I should hav..." Read more

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )

Avis

"Excellent experience. It would be better if they provide pick up/drop off service."

(Reviewed on October 07, 2015 )


Avis

"Great experience"

(Reviewed on October 04, 2015 )

Avis

"Ashley from Avis was outstanding, very helpful and made the experience (even though expensive because it was last minute) very enjoyable."

(Reviewed on October 03, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience with avis"

(Reviewed on October 02, 2015 )

Avis

"THE SITE IS AWESOME"

(Reviewed on October 01, 2015 )


Avis

"Thank you for the great service and friendly service"

(Reviewed on September 28, 2015 )

Avis

"I put yes for good value, but did not shop around. I'm hoping I did the best I could..."

(Reviewed on September 27, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience"

(Reviewed on September 25, 2015 )

Avis

"The desk agent who processed my reservation at pick-up was very professional and helpful. She had a difficult customer while I was present and was amazing in her restraint in resolving that person's issues. I found her t..." Read more

(Reviewed on September 22, 2015 )


Please be aware that some of these reviews may have been translated automatically into English.

Avis Car Rentals in Pietermaritzburg: What you need to know

With plenty of neighborhoods in Kwazulu Natal, such as Pietermaritzburg, worth exploring, you will want your own ride to check out all there is to do in this city. Local buses, while inexpensive, may not get you close to your destination. Ride hailing is convenient, but rural areas may not have regular service. Plus, the cost of going from here to there can really add up.

If you want convenience at a good rate, then you are in the right spot. We work with many of the best dealers in the industry. Avis was the first rental car company located in an airport and they have over 70 years of providing vehicles to travelers from all over. With a diverse fleet of autos and over 5,000 locations internationally, Avis is sure to provide you a great experience from pick-up to drop-off.

Frequently asked questions about renting a car

How do I find the best rates on a Pietermaritzburg Avis car rental?

We always tries to get you the best price. However, there are ways to get an even cheaper price on your next rental:

  • Compare vehicle pricing before you book
  • Avoid pick-ups and drop-offs at airports, which usually cost more
  • Determine ahead of time how much fuel/mileage you may use
  • Search and reserve in advance

A little knowledge can go a long way to increase your savings.

What documents should I bring when I get my rental car in Pietermaritzburg?

Be sure to carry with you your credit card, as well as your driver's license.

What is the minimum age to rent a car in Pietermaritzburg?

Avis's minimum age to rent a car is 21. Some rentals, especially higher category vehicles (luxury, SUVs, etc.), may have an additional fee if you are under 25. Make sure to review Avis's policy to find out if there is an additional cost before you book.

What kind of Avis rental car should I get for my trip to Pietermaritzburg?

That depends on how many people you are traveling with and what activities you want to do in Pietermaritzburg. If you are having difficulty picking the right car, be sure to read over the table below. We have compared the most popular vehicle categories for you:

Car TypeBest forCategory includes
Full Size SUVTo take on any kind of terrain and sightseeingFord Edge, Jaguar F-Pace, or similar
Full SizeNeed extra room and comfort, but with the handling of a sedanInfiniti Q50, Hyundai Sonata, or similar
HybridThose looking for a fuel-efficient vehicleHonda Civic, Kia Optima, or similar

Does Pietermaritzburg require car insurance?

When driving in Pietermaritzburg or the rest of country, you'll need insurance. Avis requires that you show proof of insurance before you rent a car. Many countries require the driver to have insurance. You might be able to buy additional insurance through Avis, if you know your insurance won't cover your rental during your trip.

Although many major card issuers, like MasterCard or Discover, provide some insurance, there are usually restrictions. For example, they may not cover your rental car if you get a luxury or larger vehicle. Make sure to check Avis's policy before you decide.

Does Avis require a deposit at the time of booking my rental car?

Avis, like several other rental car agencies, requires a deposit upon reservation. The deposit can vary greatly depending on the type of car. Furthermore, make sure there is enough available on your credit card to cover a deposit.

How do I find my Avis car rental?

The Avis terminal is located inside the airport. As soon as you disembark from the airplane, you can head towards their desk.

Do I have to fill up the tank before I take my car back to Avis?

At CarRentals.com, we suggest a full to full policy. You receive the car with a full tank, and you will want to return it with a full tank of gas. If you want to keep your expenses lower, it is best to fill up your tank before bringing the car rental to Avis. Stations close to airports or car rental places tend to have higher prices.

Why should I get unlimited miles in Pietermaritzburg?

The majority of suppliers will offer unlimited miles, but you need to make sure it is part of the bundle. It's important to determine how many miles you will be driving on your trip to Pietermaritzburg. You don't want to be hit with any surprise overages if you don't have unlimited miles, so make certain you read the supplier's policy. You may need to get unlimited miles if you're thinking of taking some road trips to explore all that is in Kwazulu Natal.

Book Today for Great Rates

With everything there is to do in Kwazulu Natal, having access to a set of wheels lets you explore at your own pace. When you're ready to see more of South Africa, you can leave wherever you like, without waiting for your ride to pick you up or looking through a bus schedule.

Before you head out of town, book your Avis Pietermaritzburg car rental and take off to all the must-do activities. Reserve through CarRentals.com and hit the roads in Kwazulu Natal, South Africa.