close
NL flag Would you like to use our Dutch website?
We've noticed that you are visiting a version of our website that doesn't match your current location. Using our local website helps ensure you get the most relevant prices and supply.
No, continue to German website
close
DE flag Would you like to use our German website?
We've noticed that you are visiting a version of our website that doesn't match your current location. Using our local website helps ensure you get the most relevant prices and supply.
No, continue to Dutch website
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Petersburg

Search for a car rental

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Petersburg

check_circle Free cancellation on most bookings

car image placeholder
  • Trusted by 7 million customers and counting
  • Special low rates available here
  • Huge selection of cars, locations, companies
  • Rent a car coupons & deals
  • Easy searching & booking.
Rent a car in 60 seconds

Recently Booked Avis Car Rentals from $ 27.77/day

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Mazda Cx5 or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 5
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.80 /day

($ 222.41 total)


Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.81 /day

($ 111.25 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.87 /day

($ 83.62 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.88 /day

($ 27.88 total)


Prices are based on bookings made during the previous 42 days. Price is dynamic and varies based on the date of the booking, length of rental and car class. There is no guarantee this price will be in effect at the time of your search.

Avis Rental Car Reviews

Car rental rating: 4.53 out of 5 with 225 ratings

Avis

"Staff was amazing and made a stressful trip, much easier. thank you"

(Reviewed on October 13, 2015 )

Avis

"outstanding experience"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )


Avis

"Superb!"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )

Avis

"Thanks! No complaints! :)"

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )


Avis

"I was expecting a mid sized SUV and got a Jeep Patriot, which is a cracker box on wheels. The check in girl was awesome and the man at the counter at pick was very good, too. I feel that for the price I paid I should hav..." Read more

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )

Avis

"Excellent experience. It would be better if they provide pick up/drop off service."

(Reviewed on October 07, 2015 )


Avis

"Great experience"

(Reviewed on October 04, 2015 )

Avis

"Ashley from Avis was outstanding, very helpful and made the experience (even though expensive because it was last minute) very enjoyable."

(Reviewed on October 03, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience with avis"

(Reviewed on October 02, 2015 )

Avis

"THE SITE IS AWESOME"

(Reviewed on October 01, 2015 )


Avis

"Thank you for the great service and friendly service"

(Reviewed on September 28, 2015 )

Avis

"I put yes for good value, but did not shop around. I'm hoping I did the best I could..."

(Reviewed on September 27, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience"

(Reviewed on September 25, 2015 )

Avis

"The desk agent who processed my reservation at pick-up was very professional and helpful. She had a difficult customer while I was present and was amazing in her restraint in resolving that person's issues. I found her t..." Read more

(Reviewed on September 22, 2015 )


Please be aware that some of these reviews may have been translated automatically into English.

Avis Car Rentals in Petersburg: What you need to know

Petersburg is just one of many neighborhoods in Richmond that are worth exploring, and, you'll want your own ride to check out everything there is to do here. Local buses, while cheap, may not take you to exactly where you want to go. Ride hailing, like Uber or Lyft, is convenient, but you'd be surprised by how many areas don't have service. Additionally, if you plan to go all over Petersburg and the surrounding areas, the cost can add up.

If you want the convenience to go where you need to for a good rate, then you've found the perfect spot. We work with the most dependable dealers in the business. The first rental car business to be located in an airport, Avis has over 70 years of providing vehicles to travelers from all over. With an assorted fleet of vehicles and over five-thousand locations worldwide, Avis is sure to provide you a great experience from start to finish.

Frequently asked questions about renting a car

How do I get a Petersburg Avis rental car at a great rate?

We always strives to get you the best price. However, to get the most savings on your trip to Petersburg you can do a few things:

  • Compare and contrast weekly and daily rates from all the different suppliers
  • Book as far in advance as possible. You will usually save more and get the car of your choice
  • Make sure you know any cost for an added driver, fuel policy, and mileage limits. That way you will know the actual cost before you book your car
  • Don't rent more vehicle than you need. Generally, the smaller the car, the lower the rate

A bit of knowledge goes a long way to lower your price.

What should I have with me when I get my rental car in Petersburg?

Be sure to carry with you your credit card, as well as your driver's license.

What is the minimum age to rent a car in Petersburg?

Avis's minimum age to rent a car is 21. Some rentals, especially higher category vehicles, may have an additional fee if you are under 25. Take time to read through Avis's policy to determine if there is an additional cost before you book.

What kind of Avis rental car should I get for my trip to Petersburg?

That all depends on your needs and what you'll be doing when you visit Petersburg. If you are having difficulty choosing, make sure to look over our chart below. We've compared the most popular categories for you:

Car TypeBest forCategory includes
Full Size SUVBest for families who need a comfortable ride and to fit in all their luggageBMW X3, Ford Explorer, or similar
Full SizeFamilies with luggage and a need for spaceInfiniti Q50, Ford Fusion, or similar
Economy CarCouple or two friends who plan on doing some sightseeingFiat 500, Nissan Versa Note, or similar

Do I need insurance when I rent a car in the United States?

When cruising through Petersburg or the rest of the United States, you will need insurance. Avis requires that you show proof of insurance before you pick up your automobile. Most countries require driver's insurance. You might be able to purchase additional insurance through Avis for your trip, if you are concerned your insurance won't cover your rental during your trip. Moreover, as a United States citizen, you can also book Collision Damage Coverage with CarRentals.com at checkout.

Although many major card issuers, like Visa or American Express, give some insurance, there are usually restrictions. For instance, they may not cover your rental car if you reserve a larger or luxury vehicle. Make sure to check Avis's policy before you decide.

Do I need to pay a deposit when I book my Avis car rental?

Avis, like many other rental companies, requires a deposit upon reservation. The deposit can vary greatly depending on the size of the car. Also, be sure you have enough available on your credit card to cover a deposit.

What is the fuel policy on my Avis car rental?

Avis and most other suppliers provide you a full to full tank policy. At CarRentals.com, we encourage returning your car topped off. For a cheaper rate, find a gas station before you bring it back to Avis.

Why should I get unlimited miles in Petersburg?

Many suppliers offer unlimited miles, but you need to make sure it is part of the package. It's important to determine how much driving you will be doing ahead of time. You don't want to be hit with any surprise overages if you don't have unlimited miles, so be sure you read the supplier's policy. You may want unlimited miles if you're planning to find out all that Richmond has to offer, or even the United States.

Are there any road trips I should take from Petersburg?

Once you've checked out Petersburg, you'll be happy that you have your own car. There are some worthwhile stops around Richmond that are just a drive away. You may want to bring your golf bag. work on your drives at Dogwood Trace Golf Course or Country Club of Petersburg. More of a history fan? Then make head to Five Forks Battlefield and Petersburg Breakthrough Battlefield to take in some local history.

Book Today for Great Rates

Once you've checked off the must-see sights in Richmond, having access to your own automobile will allow you to see what else Virginia offers. When you are ready to check out more of the U.S.A., you can go wherever you want, without trying to hail a cab or sign up for a ride-share.

Heading out of town soon? Book your Avis Petersburg rent-a-car and visit all the must-see sights at your own pace. Book with CarRentals.com and hit the roads in Richmond, Virginia.