close
NL flag Would you like to use our Dutch website?
We've noticed that you are visiting a version of our website that doesn't match your current location. Using our local website helps ensure you get the most relevant prices and supply.
No, continue to German website
close
DE flag Would you like to use our German website?
We've noticed that you are visiting a version of our website that doesn't match your current location. Using our local website helps ensure you get the most relevant prices and supply.
No, continue to Dutch website
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Heredia

Search for a car rental

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Heredia

check_circle Free cancellation on most bookings

car image placeholder
  • Trusted by 7 million customers and counting
  • Special low rates available here
  • Huge selection of cars, locations, companies
  • Rent a car coupons & deals
  • Easy searching & booking.
Rent a car in 60 seconds

Recently Booked Avis Car Rentals from $ 27.77/day

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Mazda Cx5 or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 5
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.80 /day

($ 222.41 total)


Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.81 /day

($ 111.25 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.87 /day

($ 83.62 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.88 /day

($ 27.88 total)


Prices are based on bookings made during the previous 42 days. Price is dynamic and varies based on the date of the booking, length of rental and car class. There is no guarantee this price will be in effect at the time of your search.

Avis Rental Car Reviews

Car rental rating: 4.53 out of 5 with 225 ratings

Avis

"Staff was amazing and made a stressful trip, much easier. thank you"

(Reviewed on October 13, 2015 )

Avis

"outstanding experience"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )


Avis

"Superb!"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )

Avis

"Thanks! No complaints! :)"

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )


Avis

"I was expecting a mid sized SUV and got a Jeep Patriot, which is a cracker box on wheels. The check in girl was awesome and the man at the counter at pick was very good, too. I feel that for the price I paid I should hav..." Read more

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )

Avis

"Excellent experience. It would be better if they provide pick up/drop off service."

(Reviewed on October 07, 2015 )


Avis

"Great experience"

(Reviewed on October 04, 2015 )

Avis

"Ashley from Avis was outstanding, very helpful and made the experience (even though expensive because it was last minute) very enjoyable."

(Reviewed on October 03, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience with avis"

(Reviewed on October 02, 2015 )

Avis

"THE SITE IS AWESOME"

(Reviewed on October 01, 2015 )


Avis

"Thank you for the great service and friendly service"

(Reviewed on September 28, 2015 )

Avis

"I put yes for good value, but did not shop around. I'm hoping I did the best I could..."

(Reviewed on September 27, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience"

(Reviewed on September 25, 2015 )

Avis

"The desk agent who processed my reservation at pick-up was very professional and helpful. She had a difficult customer while I was present and was amazing in her restraint in resolving that person's issues. I found her t..." Read more

(Reviewed on September 22, 2015 )


Please be aware that some of these reviews may have been translated automatically into English.

Avis Car Rentals in Heredia: What you need to know

Heredia is just one of many neighborhoods in San Jose that are worth exploring, and, you will wish for your own car to check out everything there is to do here. Buses or metro, while affordable, may not drop you off precisely where you need to go. Ridesharing, like Uber or Lyft, can be convenient, but you may be surprised by how many cities don't have service. Plus, if you plan to go all over Heredia and the surrounding areas, the cost can add up.

If you want the convenience to go where you need to for a great price, then you have found the right place. CarRentals.com works with the best businesses in the world. The first rent-a-car company located in an airport, Avis has over 70 years of providing cars to travelers from all over. With over 5,000 locations worldwide and a diverse fleet of automobiles, Avis is sure to provide you a great experience from pick-up to drop-off.

Frequently asked questions

How do I get the best deals on a Heredia Avis car rental?

You are on your way to getting the best rate on your car rental by going through us. Nonetheless, there are ways to get an even cheaper price on your next booking:

  • Compare vehicle pricing before you book
  • Avoid airport pick-ups and drop-offs, which typically are more expensive
  • Know ahead of time how much mileage/fuel you may use
  • Search and reserve as far in advance as you can

A little knowledge can go a long way to lower your price.

What do I need have with me when I pick up my car rental in Heredia?

You'll need to bring your credit card, as well as your driver's license.

How old do I have to be to rent a car?

Avis's minimum age to rent a car is 21. Some rentals, especially higher category vehicles, may have an added fee if you are under 25. Make sure to review Avis's policy to find out if there is an additional cost before you book.

Is there a particular vehicle I should get for my trip to Heredia?

That depends on your needs and what you'll be doing when you visit Heredia. If you are having trouble picking the right car, make sure to look over the table below. We've compared the most popular types of cars for you:

Car TypeBest forCategory includes
Full Size SUVGreat for families who want comfort and have safety as a top priorityFord Explorer, Hyundai Santa Fe, or similar
Full SizeFamilies with suitcases and a need for spaceInfiniti Q50, Ford Fusion, or similar
Economy CarWhen saving money is a top priorityToyota Yaris, Nissan Versa, or similar

Do I need insurance when I rent a car in Costa Rica?

When cruising through Heredia or the rest of country, you will need insurance. Avis requires that you show proof of insurance before you pick up your vehicle. Almost all countries require driver's insurance. You may be able to purchase additional insurance through Avis, if you are concerned your insurance won't cover you while traveling through Costa Rica.

The major credit cards (MasterCard, Visa, American Express and Discover) will usually provide some coverage. But many of them have restrictions, like not covering larger vehicles like premium models or some SUVs. It is best to call and find out what kind of coverage is offered before you travel to San Jose.

Does Avis require a deposit at the time of booking my rental car?

Avis, like many other rental agencies, requires a deposit upon reservation. The amount can vary greatly based on the size of the car. Also, make sure you have enough available on your credit card to lay down a deposit.

What is the fuel policy on my Avis car rental?

We suggest a full tank policy. You receive the vehicle with the needle at "F". If you return your rental with less than the amount you received it with, most companies will charge a premium to top it back off. If you want to keep your expenses lower, find a filling station before you bring it back to Avis.

Do I need unlimited miles when I rent a car in Heredia?

Most suppliers provide unlimited miles, but you need to make sure it is part of your package that you are purchasing. It's helpful to know how much you want to drive so you can plan your trip ahead of time. Although most rental car suppliers offer unlimited mileage, if it isn't part of your package, those miles can pile up—and so can the extra cost. You may want to get unlimited miles if you're thinking of taking some road trips to discover what else is in San Jose.

Book Today for Great Rates

With everything there is to do in San Jose, having access to a vehicle lets you sightsee at your own pace. When you're ready to explore more of Costa Rica, you can leave when you want, without trying to signal for a taxicab or sign up for a ride-share.

Before your next vacation, book your Avis Heredia car rental and drive to all the must-do activities. Go through CarRentals.com and hit the roads in San Jose, Costa Rica.