close
NL flag Would you like to use our Dutch website?
We've noticed that you are visiting a version of our website that doesn't match your current location. Using our local website helps ensure you get the most relevant prices and supply.
No, continue to German website
close
DE flag Would you like to use our German website?
We've noticed that you are visiting a version of our website that doesn't match your current location. Using our local website helps ensure you get the most relevant prices and supply.
No, continue to Dutch website
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Harlingen

Search for a car rental

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Harlingen

check_circle Free cancellation on most bookings

car image placeholder
  • Trusted by 7 million customers and counting
  • Special low rates available here
  • Huge selection of cars, locations, companies
  • Rent a car coupons & deals
  • Easy searching & booking.
Rent a car in 60 seconds

Recently Booked Avis Car Rentals from $ 27.77/day

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Mazda Cx5 or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 5
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.80 /day

($ 222.41 total)


Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.81 /day

($ 111.25 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.87 /day

($ 83.62 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.88 /day

($ 27.88 total)


Prices are based on bookings made during the previous 42 days. Price is dynamic and varies based on the date of the booking, length of rental and car class. There is no guarantee this price will be in effect at the time of your search.

Avis Rental Car Reviews

Car rental rating: 4.53 out of 5 with 225 ratings

Avis

"Staff was amazing and made a stressful trip, much easier. thank you"

(Reviewed on October 13, 2015 )

Avis

"outstanding experience"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )


Avis

"Superb!"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )

Avis

"Thanks! No complaints! :)"

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )


Avis

"I was expecting a mid sized SUV and got a Jeep Patriot, which is a cracker box on wheels. The check in girl was awesome and the man at the counter at pick was very good, too. I feel that for the price I paid I should hav..." Read more

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )

Avis

"Excellent experience. It would be better if they provide pick up/drop off service."

(Reviewed on October 07, 2015 )


Avis

"Great experience"

(Reviewed on October 04, 2015 )

Avis

"Ashley from Avis was outstanding, very helpful and made the experience (even though expensive because it was last minute) very enjoyable."

(Reviewed on October 03, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience with avis"

(Reviewed on October 02, 2015 )

Avis

"THE SITE IS AWESOME"

(Reviewed on October 01, 2015 )


Avis

"Thank you for the great service and friendly service"

(Reviewed on September 28, 2015 )

Avis

"I put yes for good value, but did not shop around. I'm hoping I did the best I could..."

(Reviewed on September 27, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience"

(Reviewed on September 25, 2015 )

Avis

"The desk agent who processed my reservation at pick-up was very professional and helpful. She had a difficult customer while I was present and was amazing in her restraint in resolving that person's issues. I found her t..." Read more

(Reviewed on September 22, 2015 )


Please be aware that some of these reviews may have been translated automatically into English.

Avis Car Rentals in Harlingen: What you need to know

Harlingen is just one of many neighborhoods in Brownsville that are worth exploring, and, you'll want your own car to check out all there is to do here. Buses or metro, while affordable, may not drop you off precisely where you need to go. Ridesharing, like Uber or Lyft, can be convenient, but small towns may not have regular service. Plus, the cost of going from here to there can really add up.

If you want convenience at a good rate, then you have found the perfect spot. We work with the finest car rental dealers in the industry. The first rental car business located in an airport, Avis has over seventy years of providing cars to visitors from all over. With a diverse fleet of autos and over 5,000 locations internationally, Avis is sure to provide you a great experience from pick-up to drop-off.

Frequently asked questions about renting a car

How do I get a Harlingen Avis rental car at a great price?

CarRentals.com always tries to get you the best deal. But, you can try to do a few things to keep your next rental affordable:

  • Check the mileage policy to avoid any surprise fees
  • Book your vehicle as far ahead of time as possible
  • Avoid airport pick-ups and drop-offs if possible; they tend to be pricier
  • Compare weekly and daily rates; you may save more with a longer rental

A bit of knowledge goes a long way to lower your price.

What should I have with me when I get my rental car in Harlingen?

Be sure to carry with you your driver's permit and a credit card in your name.

How old do I have to be to rent a car in Harlingen?

Avis's minimum age to rent a car is 21. Take time to read through Avis's policy, as there may be limitations if you are under 25 or for higher category rentals especially.

Is there a particular vehicle I should get for my trip to Harlingen?

That depends on how many people you are traveling with and what you'll be doing when you visit Harlingen. If you are having a bit of trouble deciding, make sure to read over our table below. We have compared the most popular types of cars for you:

Car TypeBest forCategory includes
Full Size SUVTo take on any kind of terrain and sightseeingJaguar F-Pace, Hyundai Santa Fe, or similar
Full SizePlanning a big trip with a large group of friends or family membersChevrolet Impala, Toyota Camry , or similar
HybridThose that want to get the most miles per gallon on their tripHonda Civic, Kia Optima, or similar

Does the U.S. of A require car insurance?

When cruising through Harlingen or the rest of the U.S. of A., you will need insurance. Avis requires that you show proof of insurance before you pick up your car. The majority of countries require driver's insurance. You might be able to buy additional insurance through Avis for your trip, if you know your insurance won't cover your rental. Additionally, as a U.S. citizen, you can also book Collision Damage Coverage through CarRentals.com during checkout.

The major credit card issuers (Discover, American Express, Visa and MasterCard) will generally offer coverage. But many of them have restrictions, such as not covering larger vehicles like trucks or SUVs. Make sure to find out exactly what your credit card will cover and how much before you travel to Brownsville.

Does Avis require a deposit at the time of booking my rental car?

Avis, like many other rental car agencies, requires a deposit upon reservation. The amount can vary greatly depending on which vehicle you reserve. Also, make sure there is enough available on your credit card to make the deposit.

How do I find my Avis car rental?

The Avis terminal is conveniently found inside the airport. As soon as you disembark from the plane, you can head towards their desk.

Do I have to fill up the tank before I take my car back to Avis?

At CarRentals.com, we suggest a full tank policy. You pick up your Avis rental with a full tank, and you should bring it back it topped off. If you want to keep your expenses lower, it is best to fill up your tank before you bring the car back to Avis. Stations close to airports or car rental places tend to have higher prices.

Do I need unlimited miles when I rent a car in Harlingen?

Most suppliers offer unlimited miles, but you want to make sure it's part of your bundle. It's helpful to know how much you want to drive so you can plan your trip in advance. Although most rental car providers offer unlimited mileage, if it isn't part of your rental agreement, you could face additional cost. You may need unlimited miles if you are imagining some road trips to see everything that is in Brownsville.

Anything I should make sure to do around Harlingen?

Once you've checked out Harlingen, you'll be happy that you have your own vehicle. You may want to bring your golf bag. There are six golf courses in Brownsville. Want to work on your putting? Check out:

  • Harlingen Country Club
  • Tony Butler Municipal Golf Course
  • Treasure Hills Country Club
  • Sunshine Country Club Estates

Texas is full of things to do while you're on vacation. You may just have to jump into your rental and find what is else is around the area.

Book Today for Great Rates

With everything there is to do in Brownsville, having the keys to your own automobile lets you explore at your own pace. When you are ready to discover more of the U.S. of A, you can go when you want, without having to coordinate a rideshare or spend time waiting for the bus.

Before your next trip, book your Avis Harlingen car rental and drive to all the must-do activities. Book with CarRentals.com and hit the highway in Brownsville, Texas.