close
NL flag Would you like to use our Dutch website?
We've noticed that you are visiting a version of our website that doesn't match your current location. Using our local website helps ensure you get the most relevant prices and supply.
No, continue to German website
close
DE flag Would you like to use our German website?
We've noticed that you are visiting a version of our website that doesn't match your current location. Using our local website helps ensure you get the most relevant prices and supply.
No, continue to Dutch website
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Hampton

Search for a car rental

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Hampton

check_circle Free cancellation on most bookings

car image placeholder
  • Trusted by 7 million customers and counting
  • Special low rates available here
  • Huge selection of cars, locations, companies
  • Rent a car coupons & deals
  • Easy searching & booking.
Rent a car in 60 seconds

Recently Booked Avis Car Rentals from $ 27.77/day

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Mazda Cx5 or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 5
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.80 /day

($ 222.41 total)


Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.81 /day

($ 111.25 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.87 /day

($ 83.62 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.88 /day

($ 27.88 total)


Prices are based on bookings made during the previous 42 days. Price is dynamic and varies based on the date of the booking, length of rental and car class. There is no guarantee this price will be in effect at the time of your search.

Avis Rental Car Reviews

Car rental rating: 4.53 out of 5 with 225 ratings

Avis

"Staff was amazing and made a stressful trip, much easier. thank you"

(Reviewed on October 13, 2015 )

Avis

"outstanding experience"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )


Avis

"Superb!"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )

Avis

"Thanks! No complaints! :)"

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )


Avis

"I was expecting a mid sized SUV and got a Jeep Patriot, which is a cracker box on wheels. The check in girl was awesome and the man at the counter at pick was very good, too. I feel that for the price I paid I should hav..." Read more

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )

Avis

"Excellent experience. It would be better if they provide pick up/drop off service."

(Reviewed on October 07, 2015 )


Avis

"Great experience"

(Reviewed on October 04, 2015 )

Avis

"Ashley from Avis was outstanding, very helpful and made the experience (even though expensive because it was last minute) very enjoyable."

(Reviewed on October 03, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience with avis"

(Reviewed on October 02, 2015 )

Avis

"THE SITE IS AWESOME"

(Reviewed on October 01, 2015 )


Avis

"Thank you for the great service and friendly service"

(Reviewed on September 28, 2015 )

Avis

"I put yes for good value, but did not shop around. I'm hoping I did the best I could..."

(Reviewed on September 27, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience"

(Reviewed on September 25, 2015 )

Avis

"The desk agent who processed my reservation at pick-up was very professional and helpful. She had a difficult customer while I was present and was amazing in her restraint in resolving that person's issues. I found her t..." Read more

(Reviewed on September 22, 2015 )


Please be aware that some of these reviews may have been translated automatically into English.

Avis Car Rentals in Hampton: What you need to know

There are so many neighborhoods in Portsmouth that are worth exploring, you will want a vehicle to check out everything there is to do around the area. Buses or metro, while inexpensive, may not drop you off exactly where you need to go. Ridesharing is convenient, but you may be surprised by which cities they don't serve. Additionally, if you plan to go all over Hampton and the surrounding areas, the cost can add up.

If you want convenience at a good rate, then you've found the right place. We work with some of the top car rental businesses. The first rental car business located in an airport, Avis has over seventy years of providing cars to travelers from all over. With over five-thousand locations internationally and a diverse fleet of automobiles, Avis is sure to provide you a great experience from pick-up to drop-off.

Frequently asked questions about renting a car

How do I find the best prices on a Hampton Avis rental car?

We always tries to get you the best price. However, there are ways to get an even cheaper price on your next booking:

  • Compare the prices of vehicles
  • Try to avoid pick-ups and drop-offs at airports, which can cost more
  • Know ahead of time how much fuel/mileage you may use
  • Search and reserve in advance

A bit of knowledge can go a long way to increase your savings.

What documents should I bring when I pick up my car in Hampton?

Be sure to bring your driver's license and a credit card in your name.

What's 's minimum age to rent a car Hampton?

Avis's minimum age to rent a car is 21. Some rentals, especially higher category vehicles (premium, full-size SUVs, etc.), may have an additional fee if you are under 25. Take time to go over Avis's policy to know if there is an additional cost before you book.

Is there a particular vehicle I should get for my trip?

That depends on how many people you are traveling with and what activities you want to do in Hampton. If you are having a little trouble choosing, make sure to go over our table below. We have compared the most popular types of cars for you:

Car TypeBest forCategory includes
LuxuryWhen you feel like you need the bestCadillac XTS, Camaro, or similar
MinivanFamily vacations where you need additional roomChrysler Town & Country, Dodge Grand Caravan, or similar
Compact CarFor those looking to save the most on their tripFiat 500, Nissan Versa Note, or similar

Does the U.S. of A require car insurance?

When cruising through Hampton or the rest of the U.S.A., you'll need insurance. Avis requires that you show proof of insurance before you pick up your car. Most countries require driver's insurance. You may be able to buy interim coverage with Avis. Otherwise, as a United States citizen, you can also book Collision Damage Coverage with CarRentals.com at checkout.

The major credit card issuers (Discover, American Express, Visa and MasterCard) will typically cover your car rental. But many of them have restrictions, like not covering bigger vehicles like trucks or SUVs. It is best to call and find out what kind of coverage is offered before you head to Portsmouth.

Do I need to pay a deposit when I book my Avis car rental?

Avis, like many other rental car companies, requires a deposit upon reservation. The sum can vary greatly depending on the type of car. Also, be sure there is enough on your credit card to pay the deposit.

Do I have to fill up the tank before I take my car back to Avis?

We recommend a full to full policy. You receive the vehicle with a full tank, and you will want to return it topped off. If you want to save some money, find a gas station before you bring the car back to Avis.

Can I add unlimited mileage when booking a car in Hampton?

Many suppliers will offer unlimited miles, but you want to make sure it is part of the package. It's helpful to know how far you want to drive so you can plan your trip ahead of time. Although most car rental providers offer unlimited mileage, if it isn't part of your package, those miles can pile up—and so can the extra cost. You may want to have unlimited miles if you are planning to find out what else is in Portsmouth.

Are there any road trips I should take from Hampton?

Once you've explored Hampton, you'll be happy that you have your own vehicle. Not sure where to start your trip? Hampton Beach Casino can give you or your family a day filled with some thrill seeking.

Book Today for Great Rates

Once you've checked off the must-see sights in Portsmouth, having access to a car will allow you to see what else New Hampshire offers. When you're ready to discover more of the United States, you can drive when you like, without trying to wave down a taxicab or sign up for a ride-share.

Before you head out of town, book your Avis Hampton rental car and visit all the must-do activities at your own pace. Book through CarRentals.com and hit the roads in Portsmouth, New Hampshire.