close
NL flag Would you like to use our Dutch website?
We've noticed that you are visiting a version of our website that doesn't match your current location. Using our local website helps ensure you get the most relevant prices and supply.
No, continue to German website
close
DE flag Would you like to use our German website?
We've noticed that you are visiting a version of our website that doesn't match your current location. Using our local website helps ensure you get the most relevant prices and supply.
No, continue to Dutch website
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Durham

Search for a car rental

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Durham

check_circle Free cancellation on most bookings

car image placeholder
  • Trusted by 7 million customers and counting
  • Special low rates available here
  • Huge selection of cars, locations, companies
  • Rent a car coupons & deals
  • Easy searching & booking.
Rent a car in 60 seconds

Recently Booked Avis Car Rentals from $ 27.77/day

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Mazda Cx5 or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 5
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.80 /day

($ 222.41 total)


Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.81 /day

($ 111.25 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.87 /day

($ 83.62 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.88 /day

($ 27.88 total)


Prices are based on bookings made during the previous 42 days. Price is dynamic and varies based on the date of the booking, length of rental and car class. There is no guarantee this price will be in effect at the time of your search.

Avis Rental Car Reviews

Car rental rating: 4.53 out of 5 with 225 ratings

Avis

"Staff was amazing and made a stressful trip, much easier. thank you"

(Reviewed on October 13, 2015 )

Avis

"outstanding experience"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )


Avis

"Superb!"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )

Avis

"Thanks! No complaints! :)"

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )


Avis

"I was expecting a mid sized SUV and got a Jeep Patriot, which is a cracker box on wheels. The check in girl was awesome and the man at the counter at pick was very good, too. I feel that for the price I paid I should hav..." Read more

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )

Avis

"Excellent experience. It would be better if they provide pick up/drop off service."

(Reviewed on October 07, 2015 )


Avis

"Great experience"

(Reviewed on October 04, 2015 )

Avis

"Ashley from Avis was outstanding, very helpful and made the experience (even though expensive because it was last minute) very enjoyable."

(Reviewed on October 03, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience with avis"

(Reviewed on October 02, 2015 )

Avis

"THE SITE IS AWESOME"

(Reviewed on October 01, 2015 )


Avis

"Thank you for the great service and friendly service"

(Reviewed on September 28, 2015 )

Avis

"I put yes for good value, but did not shop around. I'm hoping I did the best I could..."

(Reviewed on September 27, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience"

(Reviewed on September 25, 2015 )

Avis

"The desk agent who processed my reservation at pick-up was very professional and helpful. She had a difficult customer while I was present and was amazing in her restraint in resolving that person's issues. I found her t..." Read more

(Reviewed on September 22, 2015 )


Please be aware that some of these reviews may have been translated automatically into English.

Avis Car Rentals in Durham: What you need to know

There are so many neighborhoods in Raleigh that are worth exploring, you'll wish for your own car to check out everything there is to do around the area. Local buses, while cheap, drop you off far from your destination. Ridesharing can be convenient, but you may be surprised by which places they don't serve. Additionally, the cost of going from here to there can start to add up.

If you want convenience at an affordable rate, then you are in the right place. CarRentals.com works with several of the most dependable companies in the world. The first car rental business located in an airport, Avis has over seventy years of providing rental cars to visitors from all over. With a diverse fleet of cars and over 5,000 locations globally, Avis is sure to give you a great experience from start to finish.

Frequently asked questions

How do I get a Durham Avis car rental at a great rate?

We always strives to get you the best price. But, to increase your savings when you travel to Durham you can do a few things:

  • Compare vehicle pricing before you book
  • Avoid airport pick-ups and drop-offs, which can cost more
  • Determine ahead of time how much fuel/mileage you may use
  • Search and reserve as far in advance as you can

A bit of knowledge can go a long way to increase your savings.

What documents should I bring when I get my car rental in Durham?

You will need to carry with you your driver's permit and a credit card in your name.

What's 's minimum age to rent a car Durham?

Avis's minimum age to rent a car is 21. Some rentals, especially higher category vehicles (premium, full-size SUVs, etc.), may have an additional fee if you are under 25. Make sure to review Avis's policies to find out if there is an additional cost before you book.

What kind of Avis rental car should I get for my trip to Durham?

That depends on your needs and what you'll be doing when you visit Durham. If you are having a bit of trouble picking the right car, make sure to look over the table below. We have compared the most popular types of vehicles for you:

Car TypeBest forCategory includes
Full Size SUVTo take on any kind of terrain and enjoy great viewsBMW X3, Ford Explorer, or similar
Full SizePlanning a big trip with a large group of friends or family membersHyundai Sonata, Ford Fusion, or similar
Economy CarFor those looking to save the most on their tripToyota Yaris, Nissan Versa, or similar

Is insurance necessary when you rent a car in the U.S.A.?

When driving in Durham or the rest of the U.S.A., you will need insurance. Avis requires that you show proof of insurance before you rent a car. Many countries require driver's insurance. You might be able to purchase additional insurance through Avis for your trip, if you are concerned your insurance won't cover you while traveling through the U.S. of A. Otherwise, as a U.S. citizen, you can also purchase Collision Damage Coverage through CarRentals.com at checkout.

Many major card issuers, like Visa and MasterCard, offer some insurance on your rental, however, there are usually restrictions. For example, they may not cover your rental car if you book a luxury or larger vehicle. Make sure to check Avis's policy before you decide.

Do I need to pay a deposit on my Avis rental car?

Avis, like many other rental car companies, requires a deposit upon reservation. The sum can vary greatly based on the type of car. Also, be sure there is enough on your credit card to pay the deposit.

Do I have to return my Avis rental with a full tank?

We suggest a full to full policy. You should get your car with a full tank, and you should bring it back it filled up. If you want to keep your expenses lower, it is best to find a filling station before returning the car rental to Avis.

Can I get unlimited mileage when booking a car in Durham?

Most suppliers provide unlimited miles, but you need to make sure it's part of the package that you are purchasing. It's important to think about how many miles you will be driving in and around Durham. You don't want to be hit with any surprise overages if you don't have unlimited miles, so be sure you read the company's policy. You may want unlimited miles if you're imagining some road trips to explore what else Raleigh has to offer, or even the U.S. of A.

What is there to do around Durham?

Once you've checked out Durham, you'll be happy that you have your own vehicle. There is a lot of history in and around places like Durham. There are 5 historical locations and sites in nearby Raleigh. Want to get a taste of the local history? Then check out::

  • Duke Homestead and Tobacco Factory on in Raleigh
  • Bull Durham Tobacco Factory located at 0.5 mi. N of Durham on Guess Rd., E of SR 1025
  • Pauli Murray Family Home found at 906 Carroll St.
  • North Carolina Mutual Life Insurance Company Building at 114--116 W. Parrish St. in Raleigh

North Carolina is full of things to do while you are on vacation. You may just have to get into your rental car and see what is else is out there.

Book Today for Great Rates

With so much to do and see in Raleigh, having your own ride lets you explore at your own pace. When you're ready to discover more of the U.S.A., you can drive wherever you want, without having to coordinate a rideshare or wait for the bus.

Before you head out of town, book your Avis Durham rental car and drive to all the must-do activities at your leisure. Reserve with CarRentals.com and hit the highway in Raleigh, North Carolina.