close
NL flag Would you like to use our Dutch website?
We've noticed that you are visiting a version of our website that doesn't match your current location. Using our local website helps ensure you get the most relevant prices and supply.
No, continue to German website
close
DE flag Would you like to use our German website?
We've noticed that you are visiting a version of our website that doesn't match your current location. Using our local website helps ensure you get the most relevant prices and supply.
No, continue to Dutch website
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Downers Grove

Search for a car rental

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Downers Grove

check_circle Free cancellation on most bookings

car image placeholder
  • Trusted by 7 million customers and counting
  • Special low rates available here
  • Huge selection of cars, locations, companies
  • Rent a car coupons & deals
  • Easy searching & booking.
Rent a car in 60 seconds

Recently Booked Avis Car Rentals from $ 27.77/day

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Mazda Cx5 or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 5
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.80 /day

($ 222.41 total)


Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.81 /day

($ 111.25 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.87 /day

($ 83.62 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.88 /day

($ 27.88 total)


Prices are based on bookings made during the previous 42 days. Price is dynamic and varies based on the date of the booking, length of rental and car class. There is no guarantee this price will be in effect at the time of your search.

Avis Rental Car Reviews

Car rental rating: 4.53 out of 5 with 225 ratings

Avis

"Staff was amazing and made a stressful trip, much easier. thank you"

(Reviewed on October 13, 2015 )

Avis

"outstanding experience"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )


Avis

"Superb!"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )

Avis

"Thanks! No complaints! :)"

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )


Avis

"I was expecting a mid sized SUV and got a Jeep Patriot, which is a cracker box on wheels. The check in girl was awesome and the man at the counter at pick was very good, too. I feel that for the price I paid I should hav..." Read more

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )

Avis

"Excellent experience. It would be better if they provide pick up/drop off service."

(Reviewed on October 07, 2015 )


Avis

"Great experience"

(Reviewed on October 04, 2015 )

Avis

"Ashley from Avis was outstanding, very helpful and made the experience (even though expensive because it was last minute) very enjoyable."

(Reviewed on October 03, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience with avis"

(Reviewed on October 02, 2015 )

Avis

"THE SITE IS AWESOME"

(Reviewed on October 01, 2015 )


Avis

"Thank you for the great service and friendly service"

(Reviewed on September 28, 2015 )

Avis

"I put yes for good value, but did not shop around. I'm hoping I did the best I could..."

(Reviewed on September 27, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience"

(Reviewed on September 25, 2015 )

Avis

"The desk agent who processed my reservation at pick-up was very professional and helpful. She had a difficult customer while I was present and was amazing in her restraint in resolving that person's issues. I found her t..." Read more

(Reviewed on September 22, 2015 )


Please be aware that some of these reviews may have been translated automatically into English.

Avis Car Rentals in Downers Grove: What you need to know

There are so many neighborhoods in Chicago that are worth exploring, you will want your own ride to check out all there is to do here. Local buses, while affordable, may not drive you to precisely where you need to go. Ridesharing, like Uber or Lyft, can be convenient, but small towns may not have timely service. Additionally, the cost of going from here to there can start to add up.

If you want the simplest way to get around town for a good price, then you've found the right place. CarRentals.com works with several of the top dealers in the business. The first rent-a-car business located in an airport, Avis has over 70 years of providing cars to travelers from all over. With a diverse fleet of vehicles and over 5,000 locations all over the world, Avis is sure to offer you a great experience from start to finish. In fact, past customers have rated Avis 5 out of 5 stars for overall satisfaction. They are known to exceed in staff friendliness, car cleanliness, and drop-off time.

Frequently asked questions about renting a car

How do I get a Downers Grove Avis car rental at a great price?

CarRentals.com always strives to get you the best price. Nevertheless, to get the most savings on your tip to Downers Grove by doing a few things:

  • Read through the mileage policy to avoid any surprise fees
  • Reserve your vehicle as far in advance as possible
  • Avoid airport pick-ups or drop-offs if possible; they generally are more expensive
  • Compare weekly and daily rates; you may save more if you rent the car for longer

A little knowledge goes a long way to lower your rate.

What should I have with me when I pick up my rental car in Downers Grove?

You will need to present your credit card, as well as your driver's license.

What is the minimum age to rent a car in Downers Grove?

Avis's minimum age to rent a car is 21. Some rentals, especially higher category vehicles, may have an added fee if you are under 25. Take time to go over Avis's policies to determine what the total cost is before you book.

Is there a particular car I should rent for my trip to Downers Grove?

That depends on how many people you are traveling with and what activities you want to do in Downers Grove. If you are having trouble choosing, be sure to look over the chart below. We've compared the most popular categories for you:

Car TypeBest forCategory includes
Full Size SUVTo take on any kind of terrain and sightseeingBMW X3, Ford Explorer, or similar
Full SizeFor trips where everyone needs room their suitcasesHyundai Sonata, Ford Fusion, or similar
HybridThose that want a quiet and comfortable rideHonda Civic, Kia Optima, or similar

Does the U.S.A. require car insurance?

When driving in Downers Grove or the rest of the U.S. of A., you'll need insurance. Avis requires that you show proof of insurance before you rent a car. Almost all countries require the driver to have insurance. You might be able to purchase additional insurance through Avis for your trip, if you know your insurance won't cover your rental during your trip. Moreover, as a U.S. citizen, you can also purchase Collision Damage Coverage with CarRentals.com during checkout.

Many major card issuers, like Visa or Discover, provide some coverage, however, there are usually restrictions. For example, you may not be covered if you reserve a luxury or larger vehicle. Make sure to check Avis's policy before you decide.

Do I need to pay a deposit when I book my Avis car rental?

Avis, like many other rental car agencies, requires a deposit upon reservation. The amount can vary greatly based on the type of car. Additionally, be sure you have enough funds on your credit card to make the deposit.

What is the fuel policy on my Avis car rental?

At CarRentals.com, we advise a full to full policy. You receive the car with the needle at "F". If you return your rental with less than the amount you received it with, most companies will charge a premium to top it back off. To avoid any added expenses, find a gas station before you bring it back to Avis. Stations near or around airports or car rental places tend to have higher prices.

Why should I get unlimited miles in Downers Grove?

Many suppliers offer unlimited miles, but you need to make sure it is part of your bundle that you are purchasing. It's helpful to think about how much driving you will be doing in and around Downers Grove. You don't want to be surprised with any additional fees if you don't have unlimited miles, so make certain you read the supplier's policy. You may need to get unlimited miles if you are thinking of some road trips to find out everything that Chicago has to offer, or even the U.S. of A.

Anything I should make sure to do around Downers Grove?

Once you've checked out Downers Grove, you'll be happy that you have your own set of wheels. Not sure where to start your trip? If you have a set of clubs, it may be worthwhile to pack them. Head to Downers Grove Golf Club for day on the greens.

Book Today for Great Rates

Once you've explored the must-see sights in Chicago, having the keys to your own set of wheels will allow you to see what else Illinois offers. When you are ready to explore more of the U.S. of A, you can leave when you want, without trying to hail a taxi or sign up for a ride-share.

Before you head out of town, book your Avis Downers Grove car rental and drive to all the items on your itinerary at your leisure. Reserve with CarRentals.com and hit the roads in Chicago, Illinois.