close
NL flag Would you like to use our Dutch website?
We've noticed that you are visiting a version of our website that doesn't match your current location. Using our local website helps ensure you get the most relevant prices and supply.
No, continue to German website
close
DE flag Would you like to use our German website?
We've noticed that you are visiting a version of our website that doesn't match your current location. Using our local website helps ensure you get the most relevant prices and supply.
No, continue to Dutch website
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Dover

Search for a car rental

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Dover

check_circle Free cancellation on most bookings

car image placeholder
  • Trusted by 7 million customers and counting
  • Special low rates available here
  • Huge selection of cars, locations, companies
  • Rent a car coupons & deals
  • Easy searching & booking.
Rent a car in 60 seconds

Recently Booked Avis Car Rentals from $ 27.77/day

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Mazda Cx5 or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 5
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.80 /day

($ 222.41 total)


Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.81 /day

($ 111.25 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.87 /day

($ 83.62 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.88 /day

($ 27.88 total)


Prices are based on bookings made during the previous 42 days. Price is dynamic and varies based on the date of the booking, length of rental and car class. There is no guarantee this price will be in effect at the time of your search.

Avis Rental Car Reviews

Car rental rating: 4.53 out of 5 with 225 ratings

Avis

"Staff was amazing and made a stressful trip, much easier. thank you"

(Reviewed on October 13, 2015 )

Avis

"outstanding experience"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )


Avis

"Superb!"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )

Avis

"Thanks! No complaints! :)"

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )


Avis

"I was expecting a mid sized SUV and got a Jeep Patriot, which is a cracker box on wheels. The check in girl was awesome and the man at the counter at pick was very good, too. I feel that for the price I paid I should hav..." Read more

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )

Avis

"Excellent experience. It would be better if they provide pick up/drop off service."

(Reviewed on October 07, 2015 )


Avis

"Great experience"

(Reviewed on October 04, 2015 )

Avis

"Ashley from Avis was outstanding, very helpful and made the experience (even though expensive because it was last minute) very enjoyable."

(Reviewed on October 03, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience with avis"

(Reviewed on October 02, 2015 )

Avis

"THE SITE IS AWESOME"

(Reviewed on October 01, 2015 )


Avis

"Thank you for the great service and friendly service"

(Reviewed on September 28, 2015 )

Avis

"I put yes for good value, but did not shop around. I'm hoping I did the best I could..."

(Reviewed on September 27, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience"

(Reviewed on September 25, 2015 )

Avis

"The desk agent who processed my reservation at pick-up was very professional and helpful. She had a difficult customer while I was present and was amazing in her restraint in resolving that person's issues. I found her t..." Read more

(Reviewed on September 22, 2015 )


Please be aware that some of these reviews may have been translated automatically into English.

Avis Car Rentals in Dover: What you need to know

Dover is just one of many neighborhoods in Kent that are worth exploring, and, you'll wish for your own car to check out all there is to do in this city. Public transportation, while cheap, drop you off far from your destination. Ridesharing can be convenient, but you may be surprised by how many places don't have service. Plus, the cost of going from here to there can start to add up.

If you want convenience at an affordable price, then you are in the right place. CarRentals.com works with the best car rental dealers in the world. The first car rental business to be located in an airport, Avis has over 70 years of providing cars to travelers from all over. With over 5,000 locations globally and a diverse fleet of vehicles, Avis is sure to give you a great experience from start to finish.

Frequently asked questions

How do I find the best prices on a Dover Avis car rental?

CarRentals.com always strives to get you the best price. But, you can try to do a few things to keep your next booking affordable:

  • Compare and contrast all the deals available
  • Book as far in advance as possible. You will usually get the vehicle of your choice and save more
  • Make sure you are aware of any cost for a mileage limits, fuel policy, and additional drivers. That way you will know the total cost before you rent your car
  • Don't get more vehicle than you'll need. Typically, the smaller the car, the lower the rate

A little knowledge can go a long way to lower your price.

Which forms of identification should I bring when I get my rental car in Dover?

You will need to bring your credit card, as well as your driver's license.

What's the minimum age to rent a car in Dover?

Avis's minimum age to rent a car is 21. Take time to go over Avis's policy, as there could be added fees if you are under 25 or for larger or higher category vehicles in particular.

Is there a particular car I should get for my trip?

That depends on your needs and what you'll be doing when you visit Dover. If you are having a bit of trouble picking the right car, be sure to read over the chart below. We have compared the most popular types of vehicles for you:

Car TypeBest forCategory includes
Full Size SUVBest for families who need a comfortable ride and to fit in all their luggageBMW X3, Ford Explorer, or similar
Full SizeNeed extra room and comfort, but with the handling of a sedanInfiniti Q50, Hyundai Sonata, or similar
HybridThose looking for a fuel-efficient vehicleHonda Civic, Kia Optima, or similar

Is insurance required when you rent a car in the U.K.?

When cruising through Dover or the rest of the United Kingdom, you will need insurance. Avis requires that you show proof of insurance before you rent a car. Many countries require driver's insurance. You may be able to buy interim coverage through Avis.

The major credit card issuers (American Express, Visa, MasterCard and Discover) will generally cover your car rental. But many of them have restrictions, such as not covering bigger vehicles like premium models or some SUVs. Make sure to call and find out what kind of coverage is offered before you travel to Kent.

Does Avis require a deposit at the time of booking my rental car?

Avis, like several other rental car companies, requires a deposit when you book. The amount can vary greatly depending on the size of the car. Also, be sure you have enough funds on your credit card to make a deposit.

Do I have to return my Avis rental with a full tank?

Avis and most other rental car suppliers provide you a full tank policy. We encourage returning the car with a full tank of gas. For a cheaper rate, it is best to fill up your tank before you bring it back to Avis.

Why should I get unlimited miles in Dover?

Many suppliers provide unlimited miles, but you need to ensure it's part of your bundle. It's important to consider how much driving you will be doing in and around Dover. You don't want to be surprised with any overages if you don't have unlimited miles, so be certain you go through the company's policy. You may need to get unlimited miles if you're pondering some road trips to discover all that is in Kent.

What is there to do around Dover?

Once you've explored Dover, you'll be happy that you have your own set of wheels. Looking for a few options for a couple fascinating trips?:

  • Want to live out your Game of Thrones fantasies? Make sure sure to visit Dover Castle
  • Spend an afternoon at Dover Museum
  • St Margarets Museum can help you get a feel for Dover and the surrounding areas

You never know what is just across town. You may uncover an attraction, museum, or restaurant that can make your Dover visit memorable.

Reserve Your Ride Today!

With everything there is to do in Kent, having the keys to your own vehicle lets you sightsee at your own pace. When you're ready to see more of the United Kingdom, you can go wherever you like, without having to coordinate ride-hailing services or wait for the bus.

Heading out of town soon? Book your Avis Dover car rental and take off to all the items on your itinerary at your own pace. Reserve through CarRentals.com and hit the streets in Kent, United Kingdom.