Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu
Car Rentals print logo
person_add face menu

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Berkeley

Search for a car rental

Search for Avis Car Rentals in Berkeley

car image placeholder
  • Trusted by 7 million customers and counting
  • Special low rates available here
  • Huge selection of cars, locations, companies
  • Rent a car coupons & deals
  • Easy searching & booking.
Rent a car in 60 seconds

Recently Booked Avis Car Rentals from $ 27.77/day

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.77 /day

($ 111.06 total)

Compact

(Mazda Cx5 or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 5
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.80 /day

($ 222.41 total)


Compact

(Nissan Versa Note or Similar)

compact
  • 4
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.81 /day

($ 111.25 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.87 /day

($ 83.62 total)

Economy

(Chevrolet Spark or Similar)

economy
  • 2
  • 2/4
  • Auto
  • A/C
$ 27.88 /day

($ 27.88 total)


Prices are based on bookings made during the previous 42 days. Price is dynamic and varies based on the date of the booking, length of rental and car class. There is no guarantee this price will be in effect at the time of your search.

Avis Rental Car Reviews

Car rental rating: 4.53 out of 5 with 225 ratings

Avis

"Staff was amazing and made a stressful trip, much easier. thank you"

(Reviewed on October 13, 2015 )

Avis

"outstanding experience"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )


Avis

"Superb!"

(Reviewed on October 12, 2015 )

Avis

"Thanks! No complaints! :)"

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )


Avis

"I was expecting a mid sized SUV and got a Jeep Patriot, which is a cracker box on wheels. The check in girl was awesome and the man at the counter at pick was very good, too. I feel that for the price I paid I should hav..." Read more

(Reviewed on October 08, 2015 )

Avis

"Excellent experience. It would be better if they provide pick up/drop off service."

(Reviewed on October 07, 2015 )


Avis

"Great experience"

(Reviewed on October 04, 2015 )

Avis

"Ashley from Avis was outstanding, very helpful and made the experience (even though expensive because it was last minute) very enjoyable."

(Reviewed on October 03, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience with avis"

(Reviewed on October 02, 2015 )

Avis

"THE SITE IS AWESOME"

(Reviewed on October 01, 2015 )


Avis

"Thank you for the great service and friendly service"

(Reviewed on September 28, 2015 )

Avis

"I put yes for good value, but did not shop around. I'm hoping I did the best I could..."

(Reviewed on September 27, 2015 )


Avis

"Good experience"

(Reviewed on September 25, 2015 )

Avis

"The desk agent who processed my reservation at pick-up was very professional and helpful. She had a difficult customer while I was present and was amazing in her restraint in resolving that person's issues. I found her t..." Read more

(Reviewed on September 22, 2015 )


Please be aware that some of these reviews may have been translated automatically into English.

Avis Car Rentals in Berkeley: What you need to know

Berkeley is just one of many neighborhoods in Oakland that are worth exploring, and, you'll want your own vehicle to check out all there is to do here. Local buses, while cheap, drop you off far from where you desire. Ride hailing is convenient, but rural areas may not have regular service. Plus, if you plan to go all over Berkeley and the surrounding areas, the cost can add up.

If you want the simplest way to get around town for a good rate, then you've found the right place. We work with the top car rental businesses in the industry. Avis was the first rent-a-car business located in an airport and they have over 70 years of providing rental cars to visitors from all over. With over five-thousand locations all over the world and an assorted fleet of autos, Avis is sure to provide you a great experience from start to finish.

Frequently asked questions

How do I get a Berkeley Avis car rental at a great price?

You are on your way to finding the best price on your car rental by going through CarRentals.com. Nonetheless, to increase your savings when you travel to Berkeley you can do a few things:

  • Read the mileage policy to avoid any surprise expenses
  • Reserve your car rental as far in advance as you can
  • Avoid airport pick-ups and drop-offs if possible; they tend to be more expensive
  • Compare daily and weekly rates; you might save more if you rent the car for longer

A little knowledge goes a long way to increase your savings.

What should I have with me when I get my rental car in Berkeley?

You'll need to bring your credit card, as well as your driver's license.

What's 's minimum age to rent a car Berkeley?

Avis's minimum age to rent a car is 21. Make sure to review Avis's policy, as there may be additional fees if you are under 25 or for larger or higher category rentals especially.

What kind of Avis rental car should I get for my trip to Berkeley?

That depends on your needs and what you'll be doing when you visit Berkeley. If you are having trouble picking the right car, be sure to read over the table below. We have compared the most popular types of vehicles for you:

Car TypeBest forCategory includes
Full Size SUVTo take on any kind of terrain and enjoy great viewsBMW X3, Ford Explorer, or similar
Full SizeFamilies with bags and a need for spaceInfiniti Q50, Ford Fusion, or similar
Compact CarEasy to park and have great gas mileageFord Fiesta, Chevrolet Spark, or similar

Do I need insurance when I rent a car in the U.S.A.?

When cruising through Berkeley or the rest of the United States, you'll need insurance. Avis requires that you show proof of insurance before you rent a car. Most countries require driver's insurance. You may be able to buy temporary coverage through Avis. Otherwise, as a U.S. citizen, you can also purchase Collision Damage Coverage through CarRentals.com at checkout.

Although many of the major card issuers, like MasterCard or Visa, offer some insurance, there are usually restrictions. For instance, you may not be covered if you book a larger or luxury vehicle. Make sure to check Avis's policy before you decide.

Do I need to pay a deposit when I book my Avis car rental?

Avis, like many other rental car companies, requires a deposit upon reservation. The deposit can vary greatly based on the type of automobile. Additionally, make sure there is enough on your credit card to make the deposit.

What is the fuel policy on my Avis car rental?

Avis and most other suppliers give you a full tank policy. We encourage bringing it back with a full tank. To avoid any added expenses, find a filling station before bringing the rental to Avis.

Do I need unlimited miles when I rent a car in Berkeley?

The majority of suppliers offer unlimited miles, but you need to ensure it's part of the bundle that you are purchasing. It's helpful to figure out how many miles you will be driving in and around Berkeley. You don't want to be hit with any surprise overages if you don't have unlimited miles, so make certain you go through the supplier's policy. You may want to have unlimited miles if you are thinking of some road trips to find out what else Oakland has to offer, or even the U.S. of A.

Anything I should make sure to do around Berkeley?

Once you've explored Berkeley, you'll be happy that you have your own vehicle. Not sure where to start your trip? Scientist First Church of Christ can make for a fascinating day before you discover what else is worth checking out in Berkeley.

Reserve Your Ride Today!

With so much to do and see in Oakland, having access to your own ride lets you sightsee at your own pace. When you're ready to see more of the U.S.A., you can leave when you want, without having to coordinate a rideshare or hanging out a stop waiting for the bus.

Before you head out of town, book your Avis Berkeley rent-a-car and drive to all the must-see sights. Reserve through CarRentals.com and hit the roads in Oakland, California.